#09 “分数只是一个数字” ,父母的指引与支持 ,才是成就孩子人生道路的关键

去年年尾,教育部宣布小学一至三年级的考试将会被废除,此消息公佈以后,引起家长们相当大的反应。我想,也许是大家惯于用考试制度来督促孩子们学习、评估孩子们的程度,现在没了考试,担心孩子们会觉得不需要再用功读书,进而荒废学业。
容我先从自己的经验说起。我有三个孩子,他们都还在唸书,但我把他们的考试成绩看得很轻。

记得我女儿读一年级时,有一天她把道德教育的考卷拿回来,其中一道选择题写着:以下哪些是健康活动?四个选项分别是看电视、钓鱼、做运动、玩游戏机。那一题我女儿被扣掉一分,因为她只选了“做运动”这个选项,而标准答桉是“做运动”和“钓鱼”,因为课本里说到“钓鱼”是一项健康活动。

我问她,为何没有选择“钓鱼”的选项呢?女儿说,因为钓鱼是杀生。小时候,女儿有在佛教幼儿园上课,老师告诉小朋友们不要杀生,要爱护动物。因为这一颗保护动物的心,所以她觉得钓鱼不健康。自此,我不再执着于孩子们考试的分数,如果我执着,那麽孩子会变成只为分数而读书的孩子,这并不是我想要的。因此,看到女儿失去这一分,我很开心,因为这表示她有独立思考。

分数重要,还是独立思考重要呢?如果你和我一样认为独立思考比较重要,那麽要培养孩子的独立思考,家长自然也要成为拥有独立思考的家长。现在我们一起来思考,我们送孩子去学校考试是为了什麽?我们该给孩子们什麽样的教育,才算尽到了做父母的责任?很多家长送孩子去补习,目的是为了提高孩子的考试分数。这反映出很多家长是用分数来决定孩子是好还是差,分数也被拿来跟其他孩子比较,看看谁比较出色。考试的目的究竟是什麽呢?

对我而言,考试的功能就是测试孩子学会了什麽,哪些知识还不能掌握。不知大家同意吗?如果这是考试的目的,结果成绩出炉,我们不去解决孩子学不会的部分,反而继续叫孩子学习新的知识以应付接下来的考试,这样下去下一轮考试继续不及格,孩子又继续接受自己不懂的知识,这根本没有帮助到孩子。

叶老师一对一教学

很多家长都会抱怨说,教育局颁布的制度一直在改变,导致孩子一直追不上。与其满腹怨言,不如想想有什麽是我们可以从自身做起,来改善孩子的学习状态呢?一直以来,我都跟家长分享这个观念:如果你把孩子送去政府学校的话,孩子回到家,我们就把家庭变成国际学校。我们无法改变教育制度或学校环境,但我们有能力、有义务去改善孩子的学习环境。

认字阅读 语言教学 一对一教学

我分享自己督促孩子学习的方式吧。我三个孩子都念华小,他们回到家,我不会一直跟他们複习学校所教的事,叫他们背诵课本知识等等,反而我会观察孩子哪个部分较强和较弱。我的小儿子华语较强,因为从小有教他认字,可是数学就不怎麽好。二年级的时候,他开始没办法做乘除的部分,其他数学的技能掌握也较弱。于是,我先给他重做一年级的练习题,让他在複习的过程中把一年级没掌握好的基础打稳,一步步建立了基础后,他也就开始追得上二年级的数学了。

只要我们用对方法,孩子的学习其实是可以变得很轻鬆,也没有压力的。最主要的,是要找出学习的方程式,这道方程式,就是先找出孩子较弱的部分在哪裡,解决基础和问题根源,而不是一味强迫孩子反复背诵,死背死记课本知识。如果我们身为家长认清、看清这一点,无论教育局再怎麽改变,我们再怎麽不认同学校的考试、老师的教学方式,孩子回到我们身边,我们都可以尽一切所能,给孩子最有效的学习环境。

其实大家有没有想过,一些课本里的、学校老师所教导的知识,有一些可能已经不合时宜,不符合现代社会所需了?既然如此,为什麽我们还要强迫孩子们死记、死背课本内容?我认为,只要孩子可以考到80分,与其再鞭策他们努力多拿20分,不如把这份努力用在鼓励他们参加课外活动,让孩子多参与团体活动,接触大自然,多去认识现在这个世界在发生什麽事。

如果每个孩子读书、背诵课本知识,只是为了考试的话,那他长大后一定不会再想要学习。我们大家都应该成为终身学习的人,所以从小灌输孩子学习的能力和兴趣是很重要的。各位家长如果可以接受这样的想法,孩子应该会更幸福,因为他们会热爱学习。热爱学习不代表只是学习课本上的内容,而是对各方面的知识都充满好奇心,喜欢挑战,离开舒适区接受新的方法、知识,这才是我们希望孩子拥有的心理素质。

如果我们从自己改变,把“考试”这个框框拿掉,而注重于孩子的成长、孩子应该成为什麽人的话,我们就有更多时间和空间,带着我们的孩子真正去认识这个社会、世界。现今很多孩子都不知道怎麽去跟别人互动,在团体生活应该扮演什麽角色,他们只会读书,父母在家裡只是让孩子读书就好,孩子们没有帮忙做家务,也没有和父母有什麽互动。孩子在这样的环境长大,其实我觉得蛮可悲的。唯有让孩子不过于注重考试,从小参加课外活动,学习怎麽去领导、怎麽跟团队合作、培养良好的品德、学习如何接受失败……这才真正帮助到孩子日后的生活能力。多关心孩子的身心灵方面的发展,一定可以让孩子成为更好的自己。

希望听完我的一些感想,能让大家稍微放下一些对“考试”的执念,并且重新找到教育孩子的方向。



叶老师 识字阅读 优惠券

想让孩子体验【葉老師】学习课程? 
现在可以以RM98让孩子体验6堂课,您将看见孩子学习的热情涌现!
{点击上图,查看详情}


叶老师 人才招聘 请人 找工

您也想成为一位能帮助孩子快乐学习的老师? 
欢迎填写资料申请:
{点击上图,进入老师申请}


叶老师荣获星洲教育奖 Sin Chew Education Award

#09 What is the purpose we send our children to school and exams?

By the end of last year, the Ministry of Education had announced that the examinations throughout Primary One till Three will be abolished. After the announcement was made, a huge wave of reactions arose from the parents. Perhaps, it is because the public is so used to using examinations as a benchmark to monitor their children’s learning and to evaluate their learning abilities but without exams, parents would worry about their children lacking the need to work hard in learning and subsequently neglecting their studies.

Allow me to speak from my experiences. I have three children, all of whom are still studying. However, I take their exam results very lightly to heart.

I remembered when my daughter is in Primary One, she brought home her Moral Education paper home one day and one of the questions asked was: Which of the following are healthy activities? The four options were watching television, fishing, exercising, and playing electronic games. My daughter has deducted a point for that question as she only chose the option of ‘exercising’ while the standard answer was ‘exercising’ and ‘fishing’ just because the textbook says that ‘fishing’ is a form of healthy activity.

I asked her, why not choose the ‘fishing’ option? She replied that is because fishing kills lives. When she was young, my daughter studied in a Buddhist kindergarten and the teachers taught the children not to take lives and to love animals. Because she has the heart to protect animals, hence she feels that fishing is an unhealthy activity. Since then, I am not obsessed with my children’s exam results. If I am obsessed with it, then my children will study for the marks given and this is not the outcome I desire.

Hence, this mark deducted from my daughter makes me happy because it showed that she has her own thoughts.

叶老师一对一教学

Are test scores or the ability to think independently important? If you are just like me, choosing the latter, then as parents, we naturally have to possess the ability to think independently in order to nurture children who are able to do so. Now, let us think. What is the purpose we send our children to school and exams? What kind of education should we provide our children as the responsibility of parents? Many parents send their children to tuition in order to improve their test scores. This reflects the fact that many parents use scores to determine whether a child is excellent or poor, and scores are compared to other children to see who is better. Hence, what is the purpose of the exams?

For me, the function of the exam is to test what the child has learned and what knowledge is not yet mastered. I wonder if everyone agrees? If this is the purpose of the test, when the results are released, we do not solve the part that the child doesn’t understand. Instead, we continue to ask the child to learn new knowledge to cope with the next test, subsequently in the next round of exams, they will continue to fail, and the child will continue to accept the information that they don’t understand and this does not help the child at all.

认字阅读 语言教学 一对一教学

Many parents will complain that the system run by the Ministry of Education has been changing, and the children are unable to catch up. Instead of complaining, why not think about what we can do to improve our children’s learning status? I have always shared this with many parents: If you send your child to a government school, when the child returns home, we will turn the family into an international school. We cannot change the education system or the school environment, but we have the ability and obligation to improve our children’s learning environment.

I will share the way I teach my children to learn. All three of my children study in Chinese primary schools. When they got home, I would not keep reviewing what the school taught them, or ask them to recite textbook knowledge, etc. Instead, I would observe which part of the child is stronger and weaker. My younger son is better Chinese because I taught him to recognise words from a young age, but his mathematics is not so good. In his primary two, he began to have problems with multiplication and division, and his other mathematical skills were also weak. Thus, I will first re-do the primary one practice questions for him, so that he can stabilize the foundation that he did not master in the first year. After establishing the foundation step by step, he will start to catch up two primary two’s syllabus.

As long as we use the right method, children’s learning can actually become relaxed and stress-free. The most important thing is to find out the “equation of learning”. This equation is to find out where the weaker part of the child is, to solve the basic root problems instead of forcing the child to repeatedly recite textbook knowledge blindly. If we recognize and see this as a parent, no matter how the Ministry of Education changes, no matter how much we disagree with the exams, the teacher’s teaching methods, but when our children return home, we can all do our best to give them the most effective learning environment.

In fact, have you ever thought that some of the knowledge in the textbooks and the teachers taught by the school may be out of date and not in line with the needs of modern society? That being the case, why do we have to force our children to memorize deadly all the textbook content? I think that as long as the children can get 80 points, but instead of urging them to try to get 20 more points, it is better to use this effort to encourage them to participate in extracurricular activities, allowing them to participate in group activities, come in contact with nature, and know more about what is happening in the world.

If every child reads and recites textbook knowledge just for the exam, they will never want to learn again when they grow up. All of us should be lifelong learners, so it is important to instil the learning ability and interest of children. If parents are able to accept such a concept, children will be happier because they will love learning. Learning passionately is not just to learn the content of textbooks, but to be curious about all aspects of knowledge, to love challenges, to leave the comfort zone to accept new methods and knowledge and this is the psychological qualities we hope children have.

If we change from ourselves and take the “exam” out, and focus on the child’s growth, and what the child will become, we will have more time and space to bring our children to truly understand the society and the world. Many children today don’t know how to interact with others. The role that they should play in society is unknown as they only know how to study. Parents just let their children study at home while the children don’t help with housework and have no interaction with their parents. When children grow up in such an environment, I actually feel saddened. Only when we allow the children pay less attention to the exam, participate in extracurricular activities from an early age, learn how to lead, how to cooperate with the team, cultivate good morals, learn how to accept failure… These can really help the children to have the ability to live in the future. Paying more attention to the development of the children’s body and soul will definitely make the children a better version of themselves.

I hope that after listening to some of my thoughts, I will help you to let go of some obsessions about the “examination” and redefine the direction to educate the children.



We having a special offer RM98 (6 lessons. Usual price is RM255) for our one-to-one Mandarin, Malay and English programmes as well as abacus mental arithmetic so that your child can experience the fun and unique learning at YelaoShr® Creative Learning Centre. This offer is valid at all 60 centres nationwide.

More info: https://teacheryap.com/voucher/


叶老师荣获星洲教育奖 Sin Chew Education Award